Introduction to Ranking

Bujinkan Ranking

The Bujinkan utilizes the more traditional Kyu/Dan rank system consisting of 3 belt colors: white, green, black. Bujinkan guidelines stipulate that a student should take a minimum of 3 months to rank from kyu to kyu.

Godan is only awarded in Japan, and requires a recommendation from a Japanese Shihan as well as successfully passing the Sakki test.

Todai Ranking Method

Since students train at various frequency, we base ranking on number of classes attended. The more frequently a student trains, the quicker they will progress in rank. We track this through a “level system” that corresponds to a given rank. Each level is 24 classes. The chart below illustrates the relationship between level, number of classes, and corresponding rank.

Note: While leveling is automatic, ranking is NOT; rank promotion is at the discretion of the instructor.

Level Classes Rank
0 0 Mukyu
1 24 9th Kyu
2 48 8th Kyu
3 72 7th Kyu
4 96 6th Kyu
5 120 5th Kyu
6 144 4th Kyu
7 168 3rd Kyu
8 192 2nd Kyu
10 240 1st Kyu
12 288 Shodan
16 384 Nidan
24 576 Sandan
36 864 Yondan
50* 1200* Godan*

*Godan is only awarded in Japan.


Was this helpful?