Koto Ryu Koppojutsu (虎倒流骨法術) "Knocking Down Tiger School"


Shoden Gata

These are the “Beginning Examples” of Koto Ryu Koppojutsu.


Chūden Gata

These are the “Intermediate Examples” of Koto Ryu Koppojutsu.


Okuden Gata

These are the “Advanced Examples” of Koto Ryu Koppojutsu.


Hekitō (Sabaki) Gata

Literally translated as “Wall Sword Movement Pattern Examples”, these techniques are for disarming a sword when cornered (i.e up against a wall).

Koto Ryu History

Koto Ryu was formalized into a Ryu-Ha by the 15th Soke of Gyokko Ryu Koshijutsu, Sakagami Taro Kunishige, hence much of the overlap with between the kihon (“basics”) of Gyokko and Koto Ryu. Although the precise origins are unknown, it is believed to have been imported from either China or Korea.

Koto Ryu Movement

Unlike it’s sister school – Gyokko Ryu – Koto Ryu tends to be more linear and aggressive in it’s movements, as well as involving a lot of tobi (“leaping”). It’s interesting to note that many of the techniques involve surprise attacks to the opponent, leaving no opportunity to counter strike.

Although technically it is often referred to as a “Bone Breaking” art, it is more accurate to say it is a “Skeletal Art” – meaning there is emphasis on maintain skeletal alignment as you disrupt your opponents skeletal structure. Also, there are many nerve strikes similar to Gyokko Ryu incorporated into the art.

Like Gyokko Ryu, there is also unarmed defenses against both Shoto (“short blade”) and katana attacks.

Koto Ryu Lineage

  1. Sakagami Taro Kunishige -Tembun era (1532)
  2. Sakagami (Bando) Minamoto Masahide -Tembun era (1532)
  3. Sogyokkan Ritsushi -Tembun era (1532)
  4. Toda Sakyo Ishinsai -Tembun era (1532)
  5. Momochi Sandayu I -Tembun era (1532) (died 1581)
  6. Momochi Sandayu II -Tensho era (1573)
  7. Momochi Tanba Yasumitsu -Bunroku era (1595)
  8. Momochi Taro Saemon -Genna era (1615)
  9. Toda Seiryu Nobutsuna -Kwanyei era (1624)
  10. Toda Fudo Nobuchika -Manji era (1658)
  11. Toda Kangoro Nobuyasu -Tenna era (1681)
  12. Toda Eisaburo Nobumasa -Hoyei era (1704)
  13. Toda Shingoro Masayoshi -Shotoku era (1711)
  14. Toda Daigoro Masayoshi -Gembun era(1736)
  15. Toda Daisaburo Chikashige -Bunkwa era (1804)
  16. Toda Shinryuken Masamitsu (Kobe) 1824-1908
  17. Takamatsu Toshitsugu Uoh (Nara) Taisho (1909) 1887-1972
  18. Hatsumi Masaaki (Noda) Showa (1968) 1931-
Last Updated: Jan 22, 2017 @ 8:57 pm